Greek Salad Two Ways

DSC_1679

A few weeks ago I met a friend and her kids at the park for a last minute play date. My husband was working late that night so she invited my kids and me over for dinner. We hung out in her kitchen and visited as I watched her effortlessly throw together a delicious Greek Pasta Salad. It was so good and appeared so easy to make, I decided to make something similar later that week. It’s a healthy, filling meal, perfect for lunch or dinner. I made a big batch so that my husband could easily take it to work for lunch, and we brought some to the park one night for a picnic. I imagine this is one I will be making often this summer as it is the perfect picnic meal!

Here is what you will need to make my version of a Greek Pasta Salad (and all the ingredients can be purchased in one quick Trader Joe’s run!):

  • 1/2 cucumber, chopped
  • 1/2 pint grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup Greek Kalamata Olives, halved
  • 1 cup jarred Marinated Artichokes, chopped
  • 3 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 package Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Pasta Fusilli (or any other pasta)
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to package instructions. Pour cooked pasta into a colander to drain and rinse with cold water to cool the pasta. Once the pasta is cool, toss with all ingredients. Drizzle with a little olive oil and add salt and pepper to taste. This pasta salad is easy to adjust to your taste, just add more or less of any ingredient.

DSC_1689

We had plans to go some friends’ house for dinner the night after I made the pasta salad, so I decided to use my remaining ingredients and a few others to make a Greek salad to bring with us. I was able to prep everything the night before when I made the pasta salad so that the salad was ready the following day and I only had to prep once for two meals! To make my Green Greek Salad, combine the following in a large bowl:

  • 1 bag of spring mix
  • 1/2 cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 pint grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup Greek Kalamata Olives, halved
  • 1 cup Marinated Artichoke Hearts, chopped
  • 3 oz. crumbled feta

I searched online for a Greek salad dressing recipe, and found this one from Ina Garten. It was delicious and super easy, plus I already had all of the ingredients on hand! I think this could also be great with the Greek pasta salad. It is definitely one I will make again!

DSC_1686

 

 

Leave a comment